To improve Windows Server I suggest you ...

GUI Choice for Administrators and Engineers

First, I have been supporting Microsft since Win 3.1 and NT 3.1, I am stating I am one of your longtime engineers and hope you will take my suggestion into consideration.

As an Administrator I access a lot of different areas that users do not. These areas are critical to my day to day oerations and help me keep your products in a good light. Recently, you have removed the control panel and our work arounds get removed with each update. As an engineer I realize that these tools are totally unecessary for the standard user, but critical to me.

What I am asking as a near 30 year supporter\administrator\engineer, is that you consider making a custom GUI install for engineers. One that keeps our tools where we need them at and are used to. Speed and accuracy are very crucial, and when you all move these tools around to make things look pretty and exciting for end users, it makes life horrific for us.

A great example was a few years back when I worked on my first server 2012 I was at a clients office with an emergency and the shutdown restart was hidden in charms. I looked like a complete idiot that I could not figure out how to shutdown or restart the server. I had to pull the power plug, real professional. We lost that client due to that situation.

With these tools there are some fine tuning and updating that also needs to be addressed. A great example is the DHCP panel, everytime I have opened this tool in all my years it never remembers its settings, and although you have a single or AD integrated DHCP server I have to manually pick and connect to it. The I have to strectch all the areas out appropriatly to be able to use the tool. There are other applications that are the same way and it would be nice to have them updated also.